Pelly Houses / Police nad Metují
Pelly Houses, the current appearance of house No. 75 dates to 1931. Its owner, industrialist Vilém Pelly, Sr., finished a complete reconstruction of his three houses, Nos. 75, 76, and 268, joining them into a single unit based on the design of prominent Prague architect Alois Dryák. Each of the three buildings, however, has their own unique history. Beginning around the year 1789, an inn stood here, later named "At the Green Tree". In 1864, the building was purchased by the town of Police (nad Metují) for the town council. In 1920, the building was purchased by industrialist Vilém Pelly (owner of the neighbouring house, No. 76), who had it reconstructed in 1928-1931 to almost the same appearance that we see today.